Long Overdue Post

I honestly meant to make this the main avenue in which close friends and family can access pictures, because I feel like Facebook is taking over the world one click at a time…

I haven’t decided if I’m going to deactivate my account yet, but for the most part this is where I would like to keep the majority of my pictures and information I share about the whole fam bam. 

What an eventful last two years Ky and I have had! We have been so blessed, and are lucky to have each other in the roller coaster of this parenting journey with our Irish Twins. 

As I look back on our journey so far, I’m amazed at the things I have learned. First and foremost, parenting isn’t for the weak hearted. One memory I think that will always stand out to me is when I was 6 weeks pregnant with Grayson, Kyle was traveling on business, and I was still waking up 2-3 times in the middle of the night with K. Not to mention, I was waking up at 4 for work at this point. I can remember throwing up in the bathroom at work, and thinking, ” what in the heck did we get ourselves into?!” Ky always reassured me that everything was going to be okay. And he was right. We have our hard days, and we have our easier days. But I don’t think there’s ever going to be an easy day per say…

Another thing I have learned is that you really have to count on your partner. I honestly had the visions of bringing the kids to every place we felt we wanted to go. Boy, what a naive thought. I know some people do that with their kids, but honestly, our kids’ sleep is more important than our social life at this point. So we have learned that we operate to their schedule, and if we can fit something in, then we are lucky that day! Your social life deteriorates. Friends and family that used to be close aren’t as close anymore. You somewhat mourn the relationships you had before. You almost wish people would make more of an effort, you’re definitely disappointed in some. And of course, you’re disappointed in yourself as well, because if you just could be more flexible or what not, then you could be a better friend or family member…  

So I’ll end this post with a quote that sums up my sense of humor and seriousness all in one. “My kids are the reason I wake up each morning, the reason I breath… and why my hair is falling out, my house is a mess, and I’m crazy…”

Leave a Reply

